Gluten Grains

Gluten is a protein found in certain grains where it functions to strengthen the coat around the grain, protecting the seed from the elements. Gluten is significantly reduced when the grain begins to sprout. In commercial baking, gluten is a sought after substance as it forms the 'glue' holding baked goods together.

Gluten Grains:

  • wheat (cous cous, bulgur, semolina, durum)

  • oats

  • barley

  • rye

  • spelt

  • kamut

Gluten Contain Processed Foods

  • food starches, hydrolyzed vegetable protein
  • malt, some vinegars, soy sauce, flavourings, artificial colours

Non Gluten Grains:

  • amaranth

  • quinoa

  • rice

  • millet

  • teff

  • corn

  • buckwheat

  • chia (Salba)

Many people seem to be able to eat gluten grains without any adverse effect. For other people who are genetically predisposed, there will be a completely adverse reaction in which the gluten slowly destroys the lining of the small intestine. This is not the typical allergic reaction which often results in hives. It is more usual that there is malabsorbtion of nutrients, weight loss, anemia and increased intestinal gas (Celiac disease). Celiac affects about 1% of the population in Western countries.

A much larger number of people across larger genetic groups seem to be intolerant of wheat. This includes Oriental people who often develop bloating, cramps and hives when they eat wheat. These people seem to be able to eat gluten containing grains as long as they avoid wheat. I am not certain exactly why this is but it seems to be true.

There are some compelling arguments about not eating wheat at the end of the page of wheat.